This Land Is Mine

Israel in the last couple of days once more turned into a warzone. More than 68 people died since the last military offensive. Some children, some women, some men of both opposing parties. Like in 2012 Israel Defence Forces consider ground troops their last resort and seems to be ready to assent marching orders.

In the early morning today I found a blog entry and video from 2012. The animated movie illustrates  the cruelty of war times, its brutality and nonsense in a simplified way.

The artwork directed by Nina Paley explains the history of war by showing various groups which took over power in the holy land and claim it their own.  In order to fully understand the animated movie I recommend to have a look at the authors blog entry too. Watch out:

This Land Is Mine. Click more and you’ll find the lyrics of the soundtrack used in the movie: The Exodus Song by Andy Williams. Unfortunately both, movie and soundtrack just recently reached new topicality. It’s absurd and sad.

„The Exodus Song“ by Andy Williams: 

This land is mine

God gave this land to me

This brave and ancient land to me

And when the morning sun

Reveals her hills and plains

Then I see a land

Where children can run free.

So take my hand

And walk this land with me

And walk this lovely land with me

Tho‘ I am just a man

When you are by my side

With the help of God

I know I can be strong.

Tho‘ I am just a man

When you are by my side

With the help of God

I know I can be strong.

To make this land our home

If I must fight

I’ll fight to make this land our own.

Until I die this land is mine!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

